The Slime Run Review | Portland 2014

Typically, I write a grand adventure story after a mud/fun/OCR run. This time however, I just don’t have a whole lot to say about it. Don’t get me wrong, we had fun. It was fun getting sprayed in multi-colored slime, it was fun climbing up and sliding down big inflatable towers, tubes, and slides. It was fun being silly with a friend while waiting in line to climb over inflatable towers.

But, atmosphere and logistics go a long way in the overall experience of a race, and unfortunately this event didn’t quite hit the mark for me. While there was nothing particularly wrong with it, save for not having a clear entry point or a gear check (what do you do with your keys?), there was just no excitement.

The Slime Run is a 5K kid and beginner friendly obstacle course race at Portland International Raceway. There were six obstacles with slime areas in between where volunteers spray you with various-colored slime. It was messy and gross and we laughed the whole time, but I was hoping for a couple more obstacles.

There was a lot more running than anything else. I guess it was more of a run with some obstacles than an obstacle course race. Maybe my perception is my fault, maybe that was their intent (after all it is called the Slime Run) and I just assumed that there would be more.

Also, the front page of the website showed pictures of people having slime dumped over them – gratuitous amounts of slime. We got an even coating from hand-held paint sprayers. Disappointed.

As a post-run tradition, we headed out to eat, still covered in our adventure. The closest thing we could find resembling healthy food was a Panera. We reveled in the confused stares as we ordered our food and sat down on newspapers to review go-pro footage.

Overall, it wasn’t bad. I give it an enthusiastic “Meh” with a bigsmile and a shrug. Good times, but not overwhelmingly exciting.

I’ve put together a 3 minute recap video of all the fun, dancy, goofy times we had.

 

Also check out my race reviews and recaps from Spartan Race 2012,  Spartan Race 2013, and the Run N’ Gun 2014
Comment here! I love to hear from funky fit folks!

