Run N’ Gun | 5K to benefit Home with Heroes

A few weeks ago my husband posted this link on my Facebook page with the message “WHAT?!?!?! This is like the most exciting thing ever!

The link took me to the page for the “Run N Gun 5K” – a fundraiser hosted by Home With Heroes, an organization focused on providing veterans outdoor experiences.  Now, races and OCR’s come in all shapes, sizes, and colors these days, but this one is still in a category of it’s own. It consists of a 5K run which includes workout stations followed by the firing of shotguns, rifles and handguns.

I’m personally not a gun person, but husband is and has taken me to the range a few times, so I’m comfortable enough to find this really intriguing. And since I’m into pretty much everything else, this race is pretty much the perfect amalgamation of our respective hobbies.

It seems as though this event is created for all skill levels and everything is provided for the competitors from food to guns. One of your options to describe your shooting experience on the registration form is “Can’t hit the broad side of a barn”. So, it’s safe to say they aren’t expecting everyone to be a sharp shooter. I’m not sure how scoring will be implemented – maybe a combination of race time and points? I guess we’ll find out on race day! It sounds like a fun day, for a great cause. I’m not even worried that my might fall into that “broad side of a barn” category.

Special thanks to the sponsors – Glock, McNett, SOG, Crossfit Fort Vancouver, Slicks BBQ, 304th Rescue, 98.7 the Bull, True Essence Photography and Force Concepts

 ALL THE INFO

April 26, 2014

Horseshoe Bend Ranch
1230 Horseshoe Bend Rd
Centerville, WA 98613

Registration, Directions, and other information CLICK HERE

Click here to download the flyer

Run N Gun 5K Flyer

(Click to enlarge)

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comment here! I love to hear from funky fit folks!

