Why I care that you learn to climb a rope.

I care that you learn to climb a rope, because I know that you can.  And, you need to know that you can.

Because today I did this in a 16lb weighted vest, several times, and below is why this is important to me.

16lb weighted vest rope climb via funkyfitnesspdx

16lb weighted vest rope climb

Let me tell you a story. In grade school, remember that day when they line you all up in front of the rope and just say “climb it.”? That was a very bad day for my self esteem. They never taught you how. So I, the chubby grade schooler, hung there helplessly for 1.1 seconds before giving up and sulking to the end of the line. 20 years later, I wish I could show this picture to my 10 year old self and say, “Make them teach you. You are strong, and you can climb this rope.” Alas, it wasn’t until high school that I learned I could be strong, and it wasn’t until adulthood that I finally learned to climb a rope, because one day I made someone teach me. Turns out, it wasn’t that hard. You just had to have someone show you how. Which is why, if you’re eye ballin’ that rope all shy like you want to do it but don’t think you can, I’m going to teach you, and you will climb that rope.

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 responses to “Why I care that you learn to climb a rope.

  1. Pingback: Hoop your heart out! | funky fitness pdx·

Comment here! I love to hear from funky fit folks!

