Personal Training via Live Two-way Video

If you follow me on Twitter then you’ve probably read that I recently sprained my neck. I don’t even have a cool story for it. I was just shadow boxing and it started tweaking out. Anyway, long story short, I’m not allowed to go to any of my super fun funky fitness activities this weekend.  If you’re like me, and can’t stand to not be active, then you understand why I’ve been going stir crazy all week! Then I remembered that I haven’t tried out Wello yet. Wello to the rescue!

Wello is a live personal training session done online via two way video chat. Pretty darn slick! Just pick a trainer, pick a time and Wello!

First, I want to rave about how amazing Wello has been even before my session. I left a message on their Facebook asking if they happened to have anyone who could work around my neck injury. They quickly responded, saying that they have several trainers who specialize in physical therapy and recovery and referred me to their “trainer guru”. I sent off my email and again promptly received a reply with a recommendation and two others who I might also check out.

So, Friday night I scheduled a session with Alana Cole for Saturday morning. When I scheduled the session I was able to leave a note for her and tell her about my neck so she could be prepared to work with or around it.

My session went great! We started by chatting briefly about what I was capable of doing and she made sure every step of the way that I was doing ok. She was able to modify if something wasn’t stressing my neck. She was also able to check and correct my form, which is something you can’t do by watching a DVD.

Check out my Wello walk-through and review Vlog segment!

You might want to click through and watch in on YouTube to view it larger.
(p.s. This is my very first Vlog segment. Hope you enjoy it. I’ve definitely got things to work on for next time.)

Overall, I think this service is great. Not only does it save you time by not having to go to the gym,  it costs about the same or less than a personal trainer, making personal training much more accessible.  Wello would also be great if you’re on a business trip, allowing you to workout in your hotel room. Or, on vacation but want to make sure that you keep your fitness going. You can even take it outside — anywhere you have a wifi/highspeed internet connection. You can schedule your Wello sessions on a regular basis or just jump into one when you can’t get to the gym. When, where, and why you Wello is up to you.

To say hello to Wello, visit their website at Wello.co. You do not need to enter any credit card information in order to register. So, feel free to poke around!

About Alana Cole

My Wello Trainer today was Alana Cole.

Alana Cole, is the creator of the Heart Smart Minute fitness program, www.AlanaCole.com Heart Smart Minute is an online full service nutrition and exercise site that features 2-3 minute beginner fitness videos that can be done from home with little to no equipment. HSM, is gaining national attention for it’s modified and rehabilitation exercises. Tweet with Alana, @heartsmartmin

So what do you think guys? Pretty cool, huh? What do you think about online training vs a physical session in a gym?
Enhanced by Zemanta
3 responses to “Personal Training via Live Two-way Video

  1. Thanks for such a great review Katrina. We’re thrilled that Wello provided you with the opportunity to workout while recovering from your injury. We wish you a speedy recovery and are so happy to have you on board with Wello. Also, we’re loving the Foo Fighters music in the background of your Vlog segment!

Comment here! I love to hear from funky fit folks!

